Motion against President lost in Parliament

The proposal to suspend Parliament Standing Orders and debate the Motion expressing displeasure over the President as a matter of urgency, rejected in Parliament by a majority vote on Today (17).

TNA Parliamentarian M. A. Sumanthiran proposed to suspend Standing Orders to take up the motion expressing displeasure over the President, as a matter of urgency, and the motion was seconded by Samagi Jana Balawegaya MP Lakshman Kiriella.

Leader of the House Minister Dinesh Gunawardena opposed the attempt to move this motion and requested the speaker to declare a vote before proceeding with the motion.

The Government obtained 119 votes, and the opposition obtained 68 votes, and thus the motion was defeated.

Notably, newly appointed Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe also voted against the motion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button