Who is the new IGP?

According to sources, a final decision regarding the appointment of a new Inspector General of Police (IGP) is expected to be made today, on 4th July, Ada Derana reported.

Accordingly, President Ranil Wickremesinghe will present three suitable names for the post to the Constitutional Council. Until then, it is likely that the former IGP C.D. Wickramaratne’s tenure may be extended once again.

The following Senior DIGs have been nominated for the position: Nilantha Jayawardene, Lalith Pathinayake, Deshabandu Tennakoon, Priyantha Weerasooriya, and Ajith Rohana. However, sources suggest that Deshabandu Tennakoon, the Senior Deputy Inspector General (SDIG) of Police in charge of the Western Province, and Nilantha Jayawardena, the SDIG of Administration, have the best chances based on seniority. Furthermore, it is noted that most of the current police department’s work is being overseen by Nilantha Jayawardena.

The delay in appointing a new IGP has adversely affected certain functions within the department. Despite C.D. Wickramaratne’s service ending on 26th June, he received a three-month extension through a special gazette notification issued by President’s Secretary Saman Ekanayake.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button