Four ministries including women and chidren’s affairs to remain under President

An Extraordinary Gazette has been issued stating that the Ministries of Finance, Technology, Investment Promotion, Women’s Affairs & Social Empowerment will remain under the purview of President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

The operations of the Ministry of Defense, Ministry of Finance, Economic Stabilization and National Policy, Ministry of Technology, Ministry of Women and Children Affairs and Social Empowerment and Investment Promotion will continue to function under the purview of President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

President Wickremesinghe, who was sworn in as the 8th Executive President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka on July 21, 2022, was entrusted the responsibilities of these Ministries in accordance with the Constitution.

According to sub-article 44(3) of the 21st Amendment to the Constitution, the President should consult the Prime Minister on holding any Ministry other than the Ministry of Defence.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe made a written submission to the Prime Minister on November 01, and accordingly, on November 04, the Prime Minister expressed his agreement by commenting in accordance with sub-article 44(3) of the Constitution.

Under sub-article 44(3) of the Constitution, the President’s Secretary had published a special gazette announcement determining that the other four Ministries will continue to operate under the President’s purview, having consulted with the Prime Minister and obtaining his agreement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button