ACMC suspends party membership of 3 MPs voted in favor of Second Reading vote of Budget 2022

All Ceylon Makkal Congress (ACMC) has decided to suspend party membership of three MPs who voted in favor of the Appropriation Bill 2022 during the Second Reading vote.

The MPs are Ishaq Rahuman, Ali Sabry Raheem and S. M. M. Muszhaaraff. These MPs voted in favor of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution despite the common agreement of the party not to vote for the amendment.

Also, disciplinary actions will be taken against them.

ACMC Leader Rishad Bathiudeen voted against the Bill in the Second Reading vote.

On 21 November the ACMC decided to vote against the Appropriation Bill 2022 in its Second Reading vote. The decision had been communicated to all the MPs in writing and through emails.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button